"Stolen Moments" by Oliver Nelson
Strong SongsApril 07, 2021
00:59:4554.71 MB

"Stolen Moments" by Oliver Nelson

Jazz is all about the contrast between the individual and the collective, and few recordings embody that as beautifully as "Stolen Moments," the opening track from Oliver Nelson's 1961 hard-bop record The Blues and the Abstract Truth.

On this episode, Kirk dives deep into Nelson's classic tune, starting with his dense horn arrangement, then considering the three improvised horn solos as distinct creations that reflect the at-times wildly different ambitions of each individual player. Also, there's jazz flute.

Written by: Oliver Nelson

Performed by: Freddie Hubbard (tpt.), Eric Dolphy (alto/flute), Oliver Nelson (tenor), George Barrow (bari), Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), and Roy Haynes (drums).

Album: The Blues and the Abstract Truth (1961)

Listen/Buy: Apple Music | Amazon | Spotify


  • “Moanin” by Bobby Timmons, played by Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers on Moanin', 1959 (rec. 1958)

  • “So What” by Miles Davis from Kind of Blue, 1959

  • “Hoe Down” and “Butch and Butch” by Oliver Nelson from The Blues and the Abstract Truth, 1961

  • “Hyperballad” by Björk from Post, 1995

  • “Tutti Frutti” by Little Richard, 1955

  • “Kiss” by Prince from Parade, 1986

  • “Give Me One Reason” by Tracy Chapman from New Beginning, 1995

  • “Blue 7” by Sonny Rollins from Saxophone Colossus, 1956

  • “Giant Steps” by John Coltrane from Giant Steps, 1960

OUTRO SOLOIST: Kirk Hamilton

Kirk is the host of Strong Songs. He lives in Portland, Oregon, where he likes to play the drums. He thinks he's getting good but he can handle criticism.


Visit the Strong Songs merch store for some cool t-shirts, mugs, totes, and more: store.strongsongspodcast.com


You can follow Strong Songs on Twitter @StrongSongs: http://twitter.com/strongsongs

And you can find Kirk on Twitter @Kirkhamilton and on Instagram at @Kirk_Hamilton: https://www.instagram.com/kirk_hamilton/


Sign up for Kirk's mailing list to start getting monthly-ish newsletters with music recommendations, links, news, and extra thoughts on new Strong Songs episodes: https://kirkhamilton.substack.com/subscribe


Kirk has condensed his Strong Songs picks into a single new list, which you can find on Spotify and Apple Music, and YouTube Music.


Thanks to all of Strong Songs' Patrons, you all rule! If you'd like to support the creation of this show, go here: https://Patreon.com/StrongSongs


Donald Mackie Liam Keogh Melissa Osborne Per Morten Barstad Christopher Miller Tim Byrne Allison Clift-Jennings Patrick Funston Jamie White Angus McKimm Christopher Kupski Christopher McConnell Joshua Jarvis Rick Klaras Niko Joe Laska Laurie Acreman Ken Hirsh Jez Jenness Gardner Simon Cammell Guinevere Boostrom Narelle Horn Nathaniel Bauernfeind Bill Rosinger Anne Britt David Zahm Erin Aidan Coughlan Jeanneret Manning Family Four Doug Paton Robert Paul R Watson Viki Dun Christer Lindqvist Sami Samhuri Craig J Covell AccessViolation Ryan Torvik Merlin Mann Fraser Glenn CALEB ROTACH Andre Bremer Mark Schechter Dave Florey Dan Apczynski


Christopher Michael J. Cunningham Kari Kirk Mark Boggs mino capossela Mary Schoenmaker Sarah David Joske Åshild Margrete Østtveit Odéen Emma Sklar Spencer Stanford Bernard Khoo Andrew Shpall Robert Heuer Matthew Golden Brian Meldrum David Noah Ben Hunt Geraldine Butler Richard Cambier Madeleine Mader Andy Smith Fernando Rodriguez Timothy Dougherty Jason Pratt John Hargis Stewart Oak Caroline Miller Abbie Berg Sam Norton Nicole Schleicher Dermot Crowley Achint Srivastava Ryan Rairigh Michael Berman stephen matthews Bridget Lyons Melody Valdez Olivia Bishop Jeremy Schwartz John Gisselquist Elaine Martin Thomas König Kouroth Belinda Mcgrath-steer Eoin de Burca Kevin Potter M Shane Borders Pete Simm Shawn McCarthy Dallas Hockley Jana J Jason Gerry Rich Roskopf Melissa Gallo Nathan Gouwens Will Dwyer Alethea Lee Lauren Reay Eric Prestemon Erika L Austin Cookies250 Spencer Shirley Damian Brady Angela Livingstone Jeffrey C. Yarnell David Friedman Phillip Dalton Christopher Cudnoski Sarah Sulan Diane Hughes Kenneth Tiong Jo Sutherland David Catlett Michael Casner Michael York Barb Courtney Derek Bender Jen Small Don Hutchison Lowell Meyer Etele Illes Stephen Tsoneff Lorenz Schwarz Becca Sample Wen Jack Sjogren Aparajit Raghavan Benedict Pennington Geoff Golden Robyn Fraser Alexander Geddes Pascal Rueger Randy Souza JC Brendan Jubb Clare Holberton Jake Tinsley Diane Turner Tom Coleman Judy Chapple Mark Perry Malory Dhu Wik Mel Eric Helm Jake Roberts Briony Leo Bill Fuller Jonathan Daniels Steven Maron Michael Flaherty Jarrod Schindler Zoe Little Albukitty Caro Field michael bochner Duncan Dave Sharpe brant brantphillip David Cushman Alexander Jeremy Dawson Gavin Doig Sam Fenn Tanner Morton AJ Schuster Jennifer Bush David Stroud Amanda Furlotti Andrew Baker Chris Brown Juan Carlos Montemayor Elosua Matt Gaskell Jules Bailey Eero Wahlstedt Bill Thornton Brian Amoebas Brett Douville Jeffrey Olson Matt Betzel Mueller Nate from Kalamazoo Melanie Stivers Richard Toller Alexander Polson Tom Lauer Earl Lozada Jon O’Keefe Justin McElroy Arjun Sharma James Johnson Andrew Lee Kevin Morrell Tom Clewer Kevin Pennyfeather Nicholas Schechter Justin Liew Emily Williams